From CarboEurope to ICOS: the history of ICOS

Research and quantification of regional greenhouse gas budgets requires an interdisciplinary scientific approach together with new observation techniques. In the past, this has been approached by individual disciplinary research groups (atmosphere, ecosystems, ocean), often over time-periods limited by individual project lifetimes. The combination of different disciplinary approaches through European projects such as CarboEurope-IP or CarboOcean-IP led to a scientific breakthrough: For the first time, various data streams could be integrated and used for mutual verification.

Europe plays a leading role in the combination of atmospheric, marine, and terrestrial observations, which allows for the evaluation of the influence of land-use changes, climatic variability, and changes within marine systems on the greenhouse gas balance. ICOS was thus recognized as an important research infrastructure and added to the roadmap of the European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRI) in the year 2006. ICOS is of great importance for basic research in Earth Sciences, as only research projects planned on a long-term basis enable us to analyse and break down slow processes and trends in the earth system, and to differentiate them from the background natural variability.

The integrative approach of ICOS is consolidated in the development of the infrastructure since 2012 and the inclusion of ICOS in the national roadmap for research infrastructures. Based on the long-term, homogeneous data basis thus provided, innovative new research approaches for the integration of the various observation data streams are expected. This provides a long-term basis for interdisciplinary basic research and for a deeper understanding of the processes controlling greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere.

Von CarboEurope zu ICOS: die Vorgeschichte von ICOS

Die Erforschung und Quantifizierung der regionalen THG-Bilanzen verlangt einen interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Ansatz zusammen mit neuen Beobachtungstechniken. In der Vergangenheit wurde dies von einzelnen disziplinären Forschungsgruppen (Atmosphäre, Landoberflächen, Ozean) angegangen, oft mit projektbedingt begrenztem Zeithorizont. Die Zusammenführung der verschiedenen disziplinären Ansätze durch europäische Projekte wie CarboEurope-IP oder CarboOcean-IP bewirkten einen wissenschaftlichen Durchbruch. Erstmals konnten die verschiedenen Datenströme integriert und zur gegenseitigen Verifikation genutzt werden.

In der Kombination von Messungen in der Atmosphäre, im Ozean und über Land ist Europa weltweit führend und in der Lage, Einflüsse von Landnutzung, Klimavariabilität und Änderungen im marinen System auf die THG-Bilanz zu bestimmen. Daher wurde ICOS im Jahr 2006 als wichtige Forschungsinfrastruktur erkannt und auf die ‚Roadmap‘ des Europäischen Strategieforums für Forschungsinfrastrukturen (ESFRI) gesetzt. ICOS hat große Bedeutung für die Grundlagenforschung in den Erdwissenschaften, weil nur durch die auf Langfristigkeit angelegten Untersuchungen langsame Prozesse und Trends im Erdsystem aufgeschlüsselt und vor dem Hintergrund natürlicher Variabilität identifiziert werden können.

Mit dem Aufbau der Infrastruktur seit 2012 und der Aufnahme von ICOS in die nationale Roadmap für Forschungsinfrastrukturen wird der integrative Ansatz von ICOS verstetigt. Aufbauend auf der so bereitgestellten langfristigen, homogenen Datenbasis sind darüber hinaus innovative neue Forschungsansätze zur Integration der verschiedenen Beobachtungs-Datenströme zu erwarten. Dies liefert eine langfristige Basis für interdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung und für ein vertieftes Verständnis der Prozesse, die die Treibhausgas-Konzentrationen in der Atmosphäre steuern.